NO FEE PROMISE. You don't pay unless we win.

Is Motorcycle Insurance Required In Texas?

It is a privilege to ride a motorcycle on the public roads and highways (not a right). While this means of travel is not for everyone, there are many citizens that love their motorcycles. This is America and you all have the right to be happy, as long as we do it responsibly.

Financial Responsibility

The law does not actually say you must have insurance. What it says is you must prove financial responsibility. Most people do this by purchasing liability insurance. However, there are other ways to secure your financial responsibility with the state. They are:

  • File a surety bond with the county clerk. The bond must list two people that own real property in the state of Texas.
  • Make a $55,000 deposit in cash or securities, paid to the county comptroller
  • Deposit $55,000 in cash or in the form of a cashier’s check that is made payable to a county judge.
  • Provide a certification of self-insurance through the Texas Department of Transportation. In order to use this option, you must own 25 automobiles.

Insurance Requirements

Just as you must insure your automobile, the state of Texas requires you to insure your motorcycle. The law is not concerned with your own property, but if you damage someone else’s property, injure someone, or cause someone to die, they deserve to be compensated. For that reason, there are state required insurance minimums.

Coverage Requirements

If you (like most people) opt to carry liability insurance on your motorcycle, you must carry the following minimums.

  • $60,000 bodily injury coverage total per accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage per accident
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each injured person in an accident

These are minimums. With this coverage, you can ride your motorcycle legally. However, these dollar amounts will not cover a lot. If your accident is very serious, you may find yourself being sued because the expenses went over the coverage. This is why it is a good idea to increase the dollar amounts. There is no maximum.

The price of your coverage depends on a lot of factors such as age, type of motorcycle you drive, and the age of the motorcycle. Your driving record can also be examined to ensure you are a responsible driver. You primary insurance provider may not be the best deal for basic coverage. Price companies that deal with motorcycles and other high-risk transportation.

Helmet Laws

Surprisingly, the state of Texas has a law requiring a driver or passenger of a motorcycle to wear a helmet unless they are over 21 years old and have a health insurance plan that handles medical and surgical coverage for a motorcycle. However, your health insurance may require you to wear a helmet and the cost of your health insurance may be expensive.


If you do not maintain the proper financial responsibility guidelines, you are subject to penalties. According to a motorcycle accident lawyer, these penalties could include:

  • Payment of fines and court costs if you have to go to court
  • Your Driver’s license can be suspended
  • The state of Texas can impound your car
  • Fees to reinstate your license

If you are going to ride a motorcycle, you must stay within these guidelines. If you are unsure about what you need, contact your TxDOT facility for instruction. For more information, speak to the motorcycle accident attorney.

Your Road To Justice Starts Today.

Click The Button To Get Your Case Value

Trevino Injury Law

6100 Bandera Rd #850, San Antonio, TX 78238

(210) 873-8466

Available 24/7, Nights and Weekends